Election logo

While the nation’s current political climate has stimulated record interest in the office of the president, the same fervor doesn’t seem to apply to local municipal races.

With 46 seats on municipal boards across the Times Chronicle & Public Spirit coverage area on the ballot this election cycle, just a single one will be contested in the primary.

Voters will have few choices when they step into the voting booth May 21, but many races are set to see contested battles in the General Election in November.

Below is a look at who is running for which positions, based on candidate lists from Bucks and Montgomery counties.

Abington Board of Commissioners

Voters in Abington’s odd wards — and a single even ward — will be selecting their commissioner this election cycle.

In the odd-numbered wards, the candidates are seeking four-year terms, while a lone two-year term is on the ballot in ward 10.

In Ward 1, sitting Commissioner Steven N. Kline is not seeking re-election. Democrat Tom Hecker and Republican Christina M. Baker seek to succeed him.

Ward 3 Democratic incumbent Drew Rothman will face a fall challenge from Republican Bob Kumor.

Incumbent Ward 5 Commissioner Wayne Luker is going for another term on the Democratic ballot, while Ronald Holt is the Republican challenger.

Democrat Stuart Winegrad is seeking re-election in Ward 7. He will face Republican Paul E. Morse Jr. in November.

Republican Commissioner Dennis Zappone and Democratic challenger Dave Corrigan will compete for the Ward 9 post in the General Election.

Ward 10 Democratic Commissioner Jessica Carswell is uncontested, as is Ward 11 Democratic Commissioner John L. Spiegelman

Republican Carol E. Gillespie is seeking another four years as the Ward 13 commissioner and will face Democrat Bill Bole in the fall contest.

Ward 15 Commissioner Tom Bowman, a Democrat, faces a challenge from Republican Judith K. Lounsberry.

Bryn Athyn Borough Council

It appears there will be no changes to Bryn Athyn Borough Council come 2020.

Republican incumbents Eric P. Asplundh, Aurelle C. Genzlinger, Glenn H. Gurney and Brent K. McCurdy are unopposed in their bids for another four years on council.

Cheltenham Board of Commissioners

The lone contested primary in the region comes out of Cheltenham.

In the race to be the Ward 7 representative on the Cheltenham Board of Commissioners, there are two Democrats and one Republican. Incumbent Irv Brockington will face challenger Ceilia Goldberg in the Demcoratic primary, with the victor facing Republican Charles D. McKeown in the General Election.

Meanwhile, Commissioner Drew Sharkey is not seeking re-election in Ward 1. Democrat Matthew Areman is the only candidate on the ballot.

Democratic incumbent Brad Pransky and Republican Elaine Wolfson Rosenstein are going after the Ward 3 seat, while sitting Democratic Commissioner Daniel B. Norris will square off with Republican Mark Sirinides in Ward 5 in the fall.

Hatboro Borough Council

The Democrats and Republicans have each put forth a slate of three candidates in the race for Hatboro Borough Council.

Incumbent David A. Rich is joined on the GOP side by Peggy Hanes and Rich Seeds. The Democratic ballot, meanwhile, sees Nicole McMenamin, Aleta Ostrander and Nicole Sutton Reichner in the hunt for the three four-year seats.

Incumbents George Forgeng and Robert Hegele Sr. are not on the ballot for re-election.

Horsham Township Council

Horsham Township Council’s current leadership will face a Democratic challenge in the fall.

Current President Gregory Nesbitt and Vice President Mark McCouch are the Republican candidates, while Natasha Bagchi and Lisa Cellini are the Democratic challengers. The four will vie for two four-year council seats in November.

Ivyland Borough Council

Ivyland Borough Council will see no changes in the coming year.

Republican incumbents Chuck Bristow, Albert DeGideo, Salvatore DiPaolo and William Linwood are unopposed for re-election to another four-year term.

Jenkintown Borough Council

With six seats on Jenkintown Borough Council up for election, there are just five candidates in the hunt, with the Republicans fielding no candidates.

In Ward 1, incumbent Michael Golden is not going after another term. Democrat Chelsea Sperger is unopposed is her bid to take his seat.

Democrat Maxine L. Marlowe is going for another term in Ward 2. Her fellow Ward 2 commissioner, Charles Whitney, is not on the ballot for re-election, and no candidate come forward to take his seat.

Democratic incumbent David Ballard is unopposed in his re-election bid in Ward 3, as are fellow Democratic council members Jay Conners and Jennifer Lugar in Ward 4.

Lower Moreland Board of Commissioners

The Lower Moreland Board of Commissioners race is sure to produce at least two new commissioners, but voters will not be narrowing down the field in the primary.

Sitting Ward 1 Commissioner Rob DeMartinis is not going for re-election. Democrat David Wynn and Republican Sean Duffy are vying for the Ward 1 seat.

Democrat Laura Calfayan is poised to follow Ward 3 Commissioner Clay D. McQueen, who is not seeking re-election.

Ward 5 David H. Sirken is going for another term, with the Republican set to face a fall challenge from Democrat Seth Rovner.

Rockledge Borough Council

With four four-year seats on Rockledge Borough Council up for grabs, a total of five candidates are in the race.

Incumbents Patricia A. Kehoe, Robin Morris and Michael Praediger are joined on the Republican ticket by newcomer David Sheppard. Democrat Mike Larson looks to stop a GOP sweep.

Current council member Brian Corrigan is not seeking for re-election.

Upper Moreland Board of Commissioners

A trio of Upper Moreland commissioners are seeking to retain their spots for another four years.

In Ward 2, Democrat Kevin C. Spearing is unopposed in his re-election bid.

Republican Ward 4 Commissioner Joseph Lavalle will be challenged by Democrat Lou Crecie Garlanger in the fall.

Meanwhile, Republican Ward 6 Commissioner R. Samuel Valenza will go up against Democrat Susan E. Worth-LaManna in the General Election.

Upper Southampton Board of Supervisors

Three candidates are going after two six-year seats on the Upper Southampton Board of Supervisors.

Incumbents Stephen A. Wallin is joined on the Republican ballot by newcomer Thomas McCullough Sr. The pair will face Democrat Cathie L. Forman come the fall.

Current board member Lola Biuckians is not going for re-election.

Warminster Board of Supervisors

This election cycle will bring a pair of new faces to the Warminster Board of Supervisors.

Sitting board members Jason Croley and Daniel McPhillips are not going for re-election.

Seeking to fill their seats for a six-year term are Democrats Kenneth Hayes and Judy Hoover and Republicans Robert J. Welsh and David A. Hauschild.

Editor's note: This story has been updated to correct an error regarding the Ward 7 race for Abington Township commissioner. Democrat Stuart Winegrad is seeking re-election and will face Republican Paul E. Morse Jr. in November.

comments powered by Disqus