Hatboro-Horsham School District employees recognized

Grand Champ and Strock Award Champion of Learning Award Winner, Richard Levin, and the Dr. Strock Award Winner, Valerie Slott.

Hatboro-Horsham School District teachers and support staff members were recognized for their commitment to education during an in-service day held this past August.

At opening day ceremonies Aug. 29, the district honored teachers and support staff members who received Hatboro-Horsham’s Champion of Learning award, as well as the individuals who received the Grand Champion of Learning medallion and the Gerald E. Strock Commitment to Education Award.

The teacher who received the Grand Champion of Learning medallion was Richard Levin of Hatboro-Horsham High School. Valerie Slott, a guidance counselor at Hallowell Elementary School, received the Strock award.

Champion of Learning awards are given out annually to teachers who meet a list of criteria that includes creating a classroom climate that nurtures students; inspiring enthusiasm for learning; establishing communication between students, parents, colleagues and administrators; and responding to students’ academic and non-academic needs.

Award winners include: Pamela Merenda, Blair Mill; Mary Ellen Caroselli, Crooked Billet; Cheri Arnaiz, Hallowell; Nicole Miletto, Hallowell; Michelle Meehan, Pennypack; Keaton Bryan, Simmons; Kristen Lieberman, Simmons; Cincerea Lentz, Keith Valley; Bruce Angney, Keith Valley; Erika Lee, Keith Valley; Sue Ann Butts, Senior High; Joseph Carapucci, Senior High; and Richard Levin, Senior High.

Support staff members were also honored as Champions of Learning. To be selected, support staff members have to demonstrate a thorough knowledge of all phases of their jobs, execute their duties at a high level of performance, exhibit a positive attitude and work cooperatively with administrators, colleagues, parents and students, contributes to the programs and services of the district, are responsive to the needs of the people they serve, and are eager to assist others above and beyond routine responsibilities.

Award winners include: Kathy Sullivan, Blair Mill; Lynnann Denner, Crooked Billet; Christine Puglisi, Hallowell; Donald Hoover, Pennypack; Pamela McMenamin, Simmons; Helen Rodolico, Simmons; Ann Henner, Keith Valley; Michele Ruggiero, Keith Valley; Wendy Whitney, Keith Valley; Diane McCleary, Senior High; Donna Monterosso, Senior High; Dana Williams, Senior High; Ken Simon, operations; Walter Schemmer, operations; Cynthia Matje, transportation; Christina Wiercinski, food services; Dolores Connelly, food services; Eric Zygmont, technology; Heather Yoder, child care; and Kimberly Passanante, central office.

comments powered by Disqus