Township presents Sustainable Cheltenham Awards

CHELTENHAM >> The Cheltenham Township Environmental Advisory Council selected 20 individuals and organizations to receive 2017 Sustainable Cheltenham Awards in recognition of their outstanding contributions to promoting sustainability in the community. EAC Chairman Kurt Ahrens (back, right), joined by the Cheltenham Commissioners, presented the following awards during the recent Arts in the Park featuring Sustainable Cheltenham event held at High School Park in Elkins Park:

• Caryl Levin (front, right) accepted the award on behalf of the Melrose Park Neighborhood Association for its regular cleanups, beautification projects and more.

• Lorna Rosenberg (front, second from right) was honored for her longstanding efforts in watershed, energy and overall sustainability projects with both the township and Cheltenham School District.

• Bob Hamburg (back, second from right) accepted on behalf of his sister, Diane Hamburg, for her utilization of photovoltaic electricity, home composting, rainwater management and more at her Glenside home.

• Elizabeth Compitello (front, third from right) accepted on behalf of the Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission for its leadership in programs like the LED Conversion Project and SolSmart.

• Earl Stamm (back, third from right) was honored for his effort to successfully to incorporate sustainability goals into the township’s comprehensive plan and zoning code.

• Cheltenham Elementary School Principal Nick Pere (back, second from left) and teachers Katherine Falso (front, third from left) and Wendy Quinn were honored along with 10 other staff members for the school’s extensive real-world environmental education.

Also honored but not shown were Joe Mazza for his many green improvements to his home; Wyncote Elementary School teacher Kristin Krause for creating an eco-code, performing a waste audit and more; and other Cheltenham Elementary School staff members Angel Schalk, Delilah Montemayor, Elisabeth Farnsworth, Ken Buckwalter, Kris Hovis, Michael Ferris, Rebekah Taboada, Wade Huggins, Stephanie Jacob and Syieda Graham Logan.

This is the fourth annual presentation of Sustainable Cheltenham Awards. More information about the Cheltenham Sustainability Plan and the awards program is available at

comments powered by Disqus